Baseball players holding bats

The Coahoma Bulldog baseball team capped off an exceptional season by earning three superlative spots and landing 12 players overall on the 2022 All-District 5-3A list.

Ky Kemper was named Co-Offensive MVP. Ryan Shifflett was named Newcomer of the Year, and Billy Bailey was selected as the Pitcher of the Year. 

Making the first team were Nick Gonzales, 1st base; Kobe Cervantes, 3rd base; Brysen Kerby and Joe Mashburn, outfield; Bryan Martinez, designated hitter, and BJ Starr, utility.

Selected to the second team were Chris Thurman, 2nd base; Theron Ott, designated hitter; and Bryce Davis, utility. 

The Bulldogs brought home their first golden glove since 2010 when they defeated Brady in the 2022 District 5 & 6 3A championship. Overall, Coahoma  finished second in league play and ended the 2022 season with a 13-10 record. 

The 2022 Bulldogs were coached by Chris Arista and his assistants Joseph Morelion and Robert Sanchez. 

2022 All- District 5-3A
Baseball Team
(Coahoma only)

Co-Offensive MVP — Ky Kemper, Sr.
Newcomer of the Year — Ryan Shifflett, So.
Pitcher of the Year — Billy Bailey, So.

First Team — 1st Base: Nick Gonzales, Jr.; 3rd Base: Kobe Cervantes, Sr.; Outfield: Brysen Kerby, Sr. and Joe Mashburn, Sr.; Designated Hitter, Bryan Martinez, Jr.; Utility, BJ Starr, Sr.

Second Team —2nd Base: Chris Thurman, Jr.; Designated Hitter, Theron Ott, Fr.; Utility, Bryce Davis, Fr.