Students gathered for a photo

The Coahoma High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 22 new members in a ceremony held at the high school auditorium recently.

Inducted were: juniors, Madison Bryant, Isaiah Eleda, John Reagan, and Rylee Lodgson. 

Also inducted were sophomores: Kyla Lacefield, Sophia Biddison, Olivia Davidson, Leah Grantom, Makenzie Murray, Tucker Brasher-Wegner, Cayhill Lewis, Brynn Rodgers, Reagan Chapman, Keiston Harrison, Nyssa Tran, Natalie Rodriguez, Nicholas Tutle, Lexus Lozano, Isabella Cox, Kenna Best, and Karleigh Burt.

After the new members were officially inducted, senior members received their NHS graduation stoles.

They were: Kobe Cervantes, Emajin Damgaard, Vada Cortez, Billy Starr, Madison Rodgers, Brysen Kerby, Katelyn Johnson, Presley Archer, Joe Mashburn, Karissa Beeman, Anissa Arguello, Ethan Yager, Hartlie Smithie, and Jonah Rayford. 

The CHS Honos Hapet Onus Chapter also has nine juniors who are members. They are Makayla Chavez, Gabriela Olivas, Marianna Glover, Kenan Kimberly, Serena Dobbs, Katy Harris, Christian Everett, Zoie Joslin, and Jocelyn Young. 

Membership to the National Honor Society is based on the organization’s four pillars — character, service, leadership, and scholarship. 

For members of the CHS National Honor Society, serving the community is an essential part of the experience. 

“This year we served the community by hosting a trunk or treat event for Coahoma, collecting books for elementary-age students, and collecting items for the Happy Day Humane Society,” said Melissa Watson, Coahoma NHS advisor. “If anyone has any area they would like us to serve, please contact me.”

Watson can be contacted at

Senior NHS members